If it was good enough for Hemingway…

The legend/urban myth or maybe just plain internet hokum is that Ernest Hemingway wrote (to win a $10 bet) a story so good it made people cry, the alleged story in question being…

 

For Sale:

baby shoes, never worn.

 

Well whatever you think of the story, or even if you refuse to countenance that a story can be only six words in length, it has inspired me to have my own go which I have called 1 (I’m not sure if the rules allow me additional words for a title so I’ve used a number).

So with thanks to Ernest for his help I present

 

1

 

The shimmering waters call me home.

3 thoughts on “If it was good enough for Hemingway…

  1. Reblogged this on Made of sticks and stones and commented:

    What more Reblogs – well kind of!

    I’ve enjoyed the last month’s project of reblogging poems and fiction from my blog so much that I wanted to continue daily blogging in this coming month.
    But as I felt it should be more Xmas related. And I kind of felt this was an appropriate little idea. An Advent Calendar of Six word tales. I’ve found this a great little way of stretching my writing muscles and taking away the fear that grips me every day when that blank white page faces me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

