A day begins

Day 30 of the 30 Reblogs of November.
I’ll end this month of looking back, with what turned out to be the joint top most popular post, in terms of likes that a single posting received.
I’ve chosen this poem to end the month purely because I was surprised and delighted by the response it received first time around. A big thank you to you all for your support.

Made of sticks and stones

Raindrops on the roof

Sounds like faraway footsteps

When heard from beneath the sheet

Cocooned within my sanctuary

Where you left me. Spent,

With just a veneer of honesty,

 

A single atom wide

All that lay between us.

Our bodies entwined

Fingertips gently touching.

My lips would rest upon your neck,

With whispered promises of forever.

 

Then I closed my eyes

To wake alone, without you.

I’m left to rebuild the lies.

The silken thread, wound tight,

That keeps daylight out.

The day begins without you.

View original post

Leave a Reply

