Hats off to karma

I wrote this poem awhile back, but I always felt I needed to put it into some context before posting it.
Maybe that’s just my way of saying my words don’t adequately express the emotion I’m trying to capture or simply as justification for the views expressed.
After all, I’m only human.

A little context

When you are looking for a calm space in this crazy modern world and some meaning in life, it is probably inevitable you go looking for meaning in the devine.
It is, I believe, fundamentally human to imagine we are part of something bigger.
The sense I get when I look at a representation of Jesus on the cross or Buddha sitting cross legged, is that the majority of artists who have tried to represent these individuals tried to show their serenity.
You could argue that it is this calmness and awareness of others that underpins the philosophies of these individuals. Maybe it is this stillness that has made humans through the ages seek to follow their examples. While all around vast swathes of the human race try their hardest to degrade their fellow men. It does appear that the only limitless thing in the universe is mankind’s inhumanity. It did make me wonder what if the higher powers of the universe did consider giving up on us.
Maybe because I grew up watching the films with the animation of Ray Harryhausen where the gods of Olympus gather round a break in the clouds to peer down at us from on high, I imagine them congregating together, discussing the human race – deciding whether to cut their losses.
Anyway that’s the background to this poem. So, with apologies to all Buddhists, Christians and others of faith. As well as Led Zeppelin and John Lennon.

Hats off to karma

While Jesus wept,
Buddha just sighed
For he’d seen it all before.
He said, “Don’t you cry there brother,
About them fucking it up
And wrecking it all.
Because if that instant karma don’t get them,
I know; my shotgun will.

© 2015 | Frank Regan, All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Hats off to karma

  1. I enjoyed the poem very much. You captured Buddhist philosophy quite well. Most people believe that Buddhism, non violence or the search for balance is about inertia. It is not. It is a choice to maintain a focus on one’s own inadequacies first. Sometimes, when defending ourselves, we end up making the same mistakes as the other person. Karma, for me, is a waiting game. If I wait calmly for long enough, most people end up tripping over their own tongues or choking on their own wasted words. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

