Entropy

When I was a child
I moved at the speed of light.
Like the Big Bang packaged into a cowboy costume,
Infinite energy, perpetual motion.

Now that I’m older, I am slower.
Like that mechanical bunny I’m still banging my drum
But with battery running down,
A little tatty and grey at the edges.

Then when I am old, I will just be,
I will stay where you wheel me
As long as you apply the brake.

Until one day I will wind down
To that inevitability
All energy spent, skin paper thin and grey,
Absolute zero, last breath.

photo credit: Sun via photopin (license)

photo credit: Sun via photopin (license)

But
Between now and then
There’s still a life to be lived
And while I might have put away some childish things
There’s no reason I can’t still laugh;
Enjoy life like a kid.

© 2015 | Frank Regan, All rights reserved.

Originally Published 22 August 2015 Edited 16 July 2016

Save

Leave a Reply

