Imitation of Me

photo credit: Simeon Berg Day 175 - Going All Out via photopin (license)

photo credit: Simeon Berg Day 175 – Going All Out via photopin (license)

I am an imitation,
A pale shadow,
A shopping list of ingredients
For a warming casserole;
When you’d rather dine out
At the razor-blade cafe.

I don’t fit in this strait-jacket
The tailor of society
Has picked out for me.
I am Jack
But I won’t go back in the box.
I will kick and scream

Make a fuss
As the hangman drags me to the gallows.
I will plot my escape to the very last
Hide four aces up my sleeves.
Getting down on my knees
And begging for deliverance.

Because what you want,
What you’ve seen from me so far,
Is less than I’ve got to give.
And if you stand back
(At a safe distance)
Then the best is yet to come.

 

© 2016 | Frank Regan, All rights reserved.

Save

Leave a Reply

